The Much Awaited East African Standby Force Launched In Ethiopia Today

The Much Awaited East African Standby Force Launched In Ethiopia Today
East Africa is Africa’s most integrated region

AFRICANGLOBE – Ten African countries have today launched the much awaited East African Standby Force (EASF) in the Ethiopian city of Adama. The launch came after the conclusion of the ‘Mashariki Salam 2014’ EASF Command Post Exercise in Ethiopia.

Ethiopian Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn said on the occasion earlier today that the operationalization of the Standby Force is an uplifting moment for the ten countries that took part in the exercise.

“For the people of the region and the continent in general, this is yet another demonstration of Africa’s resolve to take matters of peace and security in its own hands,” Hailemariam said adding that the primary purpose of the Standby Force is ensuring Africa’s ownership of matters for Africans.

The ten African countries that make up the East African Standby Force are Burundi, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda, Seychelles, Somalia and Sudan.

Since its establishment ten years ago, EASF has been working towards the full operationalization of the African Standby Force which was targeted for 2015 within the framework of the African Peace and Security Architecture and in line with the African Union Roadmap.

The stated mandate indicated that the military role of the Force is set to create the necessary conditions to create a stable, self- sustaining and secure environment for the longer term in the East African region.