HomeAfrica‘Forces of Change’ Eradicated From the ANC

‘Forces of Change’ Eradicated From the ANC


ANC elections
Zuma turned S.A. into a state of political patronage

AFRICANGLOBE – The so-called ‘Forces of Change’ which had resisted ANC president Jacob Zuma’s re-election were voted out of the party’s national executive committee on Thursday.

None of those who contested the top six leadership posts without success earlier this week made it onto the 80-member NEC of the African National Congress.

South Africa’s Human Settlements Minister Tokyo Sexwale, who lost his bid for deputy president of the party, was number 10 on the NEC list at the last ANC elective conference in Polokwane in 2007.

This time around, he did not make it.

Neither did former treasurer-general Mathews Phosa, who also contested the deputy presidency, nor former deputy secretary-general Thandi Modise.

Gauteng chairman Paul Mashatile and Sport Minister Fikile Mbalula, who was number 15 on the NEC in 2007, were also excluded.

The five had automatically been put on the nomination list after they lost in the top six officials election at the 53rd ANC national conference in Mangaung.

Deputy President Kgalema Motlanthe, who failed to challenge the party presidency, did not make himself available for election on the NEC.

History seemed to be repeating itself.

In 2007, when former president Thabo Mbeki lost the party presidency to Zuma, many of his allies did not make it onto the NEC list either.

That year, those excluded from the NEC were then deputy president Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka, and then cabinet ministers Alec Erwin, Geraldine Fraser-Moleketi, Essop Pahad, Thoko Didiza, Sydney Mufamadi, Ronnie Kasrils and Ngconde Balfour, or director general in the presidency at the time, Frank Chikane.

The most popular NEC member of the Stellenbosch elective conference in 2002, Trevor Manuel, did not make himself available for election this year.

Struggle stalwart Winnie Madikizela-Mandela, the ex-wife of former president Nelson Mandela, topped the NEC list in 2007.

This year, she was second-last on the list and the announcement of her name failed to draw any cheers.

Those who received the loudest cheers by delegates this year included sacked police commissioner Bheki Cele and former Gauteng housing MEC Humphreys Mmemezi, who was fired for misusing a state-issued credit card.

So did former ANCYL treasurer Pule Mabe and Zuma’s media adviser Zizi Kodwa.

The new NEC also included several Cabinet ministers and AU commission chair Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, as well as ANC spokesman Jackson Mthembu.

Delegates sang as the new members joined the party’s top six on stage.

“Siwelewele Zumantashe…!!” they sang in a soccer celebration, stomping their feet, and waving party flags.

With two fingers in the air, indicating their support for Zuma’s second term as ANC leader, they blew whistles and danced.

Cabinet ministers on the list are Public Enterprises Minister Malusi Gigaba, Public Service Minister Lindiwe Sisulu, Minister in the Presidency Collins Chabane, Justice Minister Jeff Radebe, Home Affairs Minister Naledi Pandor, Science and Technology Minister Derek Hanekom, Finance Minister Pravin Gordon, Police Minister Nathi Mthethwa and National Assembly Speaker Max Sisulu.

Former Reserve Bank governor Tito Mboweni, and former arts and culture minister Pallo Jordan were also elected.

Trade unionists who made it to the NEC were Congress of SA Trade Unions president Sidumo Dlamini, and Nehawu general secretary Fikile Majola.

- Advertisment -

Trending Articles