ICC Championship Trophy 2013

Africa News

ICC Championship Trophy 2013

The most important of the entire cricket oriented games and tournaments happened to be the prestigious World Cup. And the event to get the second highest rate of interest is the International Cricket Council Championship trophy tournaments. The ICC Women’s world cup just got over and right at its heel is the ICC Championship trophy. The Championship trophy unlike the World Cup is a less elaborate sport. While World Cup occurs every four years, the Championship trophy is a ‘once in every couple of years affair’. The next significant difference between the two tournaments is in their duration. While the World Cup usually spreads over a month, the Championship trophy gets over in a span of two weeks or so.

The 2013 ICC Championship trophy will be an extra special one as it is slated as the seventh and the last edition of the tournament. There won’t be any more Championship trophies but there will be a modified test version known as ICC World Test Championship. ICC Championship trophy news has confirmed that the World Test Championships will be moved to 2017.

This year’s Championship trophy will be hosted by England and the Wales which makes England the only country to have hosted the tournament twice. They had previously hosted the tournament in 2004. The very first tournament called the 1998 ICC Knockout Trophy was won by South Africa after beating the West Indies team in the finals. The second tourney was won by the New Zealand team who defeated India to claim the trophy. The third tournament ended India and Sri Lanka tied to the first position. West Indies beat the host country in the finals to take home their trophy in the fourth edition and in the fifth, the Australians snatched it right off their arms in the finals. In the following Championship tournament, The Australians again won the cup, having given the English team a massive thrashing.

This year we will eight teams divided into two groups competing against each other over a period of two weeks in an exciting race to the top. Team A consists of Australia, England, New Zealand and Sri lanka while Team B comprises of India, Pakistan, South Africa and West Indies. As per the ICC Championship trophy schedule the matches are set to commence on 6th June 2013 with India playing against South Africa at the Sophia Gardens in Cardiff.

For more information about ICC Championship trophy and ICC Championship trophy schedule. Please visit the official website.